My Ketogenic Journey – The Beginning

ke·toi·gen·ic di·et
noun
  1. a diet that tends to promote the metabolic formation of ketone bodies by causing the body to use fat (rather than carbohydrate) as its principal energy source.

Near the end of 2016, I began to hear rumblings about the Ketogenic lifestyle, a diet that supposedly was helping people lose large amounts of fat. A fabulous Facebook friend of mine, Heather, who is a similar age and leads a similar lifestyle (young kids, stay at home mom) began dropping pounds dramatically. All across my social media I saw Heather shrinking before my very eyes. On November 30, she posted a comparison photo of herself after losing 87lbs and I was sold!

15181176_10205997429734878_3092920033635979384_nLook at this woman, she is my inspiration for all things Keto! You can see more of her progress on Heather’s Instagram

 

I reached out to her and she filled me in on all of the details of this Ketogenic lifestyle. She hooked me up with a private Facebook Keto support group and from there I discovered you tube podcasts and multiple websites filled with information about Keto. I took my time and learned as much as I could about Keto, taking in different perspectives and even looking into the negatives of a high fat, moderate protein diet. There is a lot to learn and I realized quickly that I could not just “jump in”. It took me until January 14, 2017 to be mentally prepared to finally begin my journey.

The Ketogenic lifestyle is not your typical social media influenced “diet”. You do not have to purchase specialized shakes or freeze dried food, it is simply science. By reducing your daily carbohydrate intake to 20 grams per day, you force your body to begin using fat as fuel. You no longer crave those midday carb fueled snacks but instead ingest more protein that keeps you fuller longer.

I began the diet on January 15, 2017 and I have not looked back. I no longer rely on soda, I rarely crave real sugar, and I can go long periods of time without being hungry. To make a long story short, I am on my 13th week of the Ketogenic Lifestyle and I have lost 60lbs so far and have dropped from a size 26 in jeans to a size 22. It is unbelievable to me that through a simple change of limiting my daily carbs, I have turned my life around!

keto
A difference of 50lbs.

By recording my progress I hope to keep myself accountable. I will update as I see the progress and I hope to inspire you as a reader as well.

Have you heard of this Ketogenic diet? Do you know anyone who has success with this way of eating? Let me know!

One thought on “My Ketogenic Journey – The Beginning

Leave a Reply

